Monday, August 10, 2015

Past National Prep Poll Champions

Bob Ladouceur (De La Salle HS)
The National Prep Poll was originated and published by World Features Syndicate from the 1987 football season through the end of basketball season in 2015. 

National High School Sports Hall of Fame journalist Doug Huff authored the National Prep Poll before he joined Student Sports in 1999. Current poll chief Jamie DeMoney took over at the start of the 1999-2000 basketball season. 

Here is a listing of the 27 National Prep Poll champion teams and their coaches, as published by World Features Syndicate.

1987Fontana HSFontanaCA14-0Dick Bruich
1988Vigor HSPrichardAL13-0Harold Clark
1989Permian HSOdessaTX16-0Gary Gaines
1990Aldine HSAldineTX15-0Bill Smith
1991Ben Davis HSIndianapolisIN14-0Dick Dullaghan
1992Valdosta HSValdostaGA14-0Nick Hyder
1993St. Ignatius HSClevelandOH14-0Chuck Kyle
1994De La Salle HSConcordCA13-0Bob Ladouceur
1995St. Ignatius HSClevelandOH14-0Chuck Kyle
1996Hampton HSHamptonVA14-0Mike Smith
1997Hampton HSHamptonVA13-0Mike Smith
1998De La Salle HSConcordCA12-0Bob Ladouceur
1999Evangel Christian HSShreveportLA15-0Dennis Dunn
2000De La Salle HSConcordCA13-0Bob Ladouceur
2001De La Salle HSConcordCA12-0Bob Ladouceur
2002De La Salle HSConcordCA13-0Bob Ladouceur
2003De La Salle HSConcordCA13-0Bob Ladouceur
2004Carroll HSSouthlakeTX16-0Todd Dodge
2005Carroll HSSouthlakeTX16-0Todd Dodge
2006Lakeland HSLakelandFL15-0Bill Castle
2007St. Xavier HSCincinnatiOH15-0Steve Specht
2008St. Thomas Aquinas HSFort LauderdaleFL15-0George Smith
2009Don Bosco PrepRamseyNJ12-0Greg Toal
2010St. Thomas Aquinas HSFort LauderdaleFL15-0George Smith
2011Don Bosco PrepRamseyNJ12-0Greg Toal
2012John Curtis Christian HSRiver RidgeLA14-0J.T. Curtis
2013Booker T. Washington HSMiamiFL14-0Tim Harris
2014Bishop Gorman HSLas VegasNV15-0Tony Sanchez

About the PrepNation National Prep Poll

The PrepNation National Prep Poll is a continuation of World Feature Syndicate’s National Prep Poll, which was published and distributed to the Associated Press and other news organizations from 1987 to 2015. 

The National Prep Poll is second only to the USA Today Super 25 as the longest continually published weekly high school rankings. While a product of World Features Syndicate (1987-2015), the National Prep Poll was the only high school poll distributed to newspapers and websites around the United States by the Associated Press.

Before authoring rankings for Student Sports and ESPN, National High School Sports Hall of Fame journalist Doug Huff compiled the National Prep Poll rankings from 1987 until 1999. Current author Jamie DeMoney has compiled the poll since the start of the 1999 basketball season to the present. 

Among the criteria used in the weekly compilation of the National Prep Poll rankings are strength of schedule, the ability to accomplish the ultimate goal on a team's schedule (i.e. winning a championship), impact players and performers, a team's coaching and recent tradition.

About was originally launched August 1, 2001 by Jamie DeMoney for the purpose of creating a permanent online home for the National Prep Poll football and boys basketball rankings.

No comments: